A place for you to talk about movies / Blu Rays and anything related.

Moderators: lazyben, static14, texasvinyl

By philball1974
Whats the knowledge/interest like here for Folk Horror?

I don't know much about the genre apart from the odd film like the Wicker Man and blood on satans claw. Can we get some good discussion going?

Not really interested in endless youtube clips or random picks from Wiki pages, but if theres people here who have a genuine interest then would be great to learn more!
By siforster
There's a great BBC Play For Today TV thing called Robin Redbreast (starring the wonderful Bernard Hepton) that just about predates the Wicker Man and looks to have been quite an influence. It's out on DVD and it's bloody brilliant, if a little dragged-out (I believe the broadcast version was a bit shorter).

[video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzxbrol05Ds[/video]
By Hatter313
Always been a nut for this sub genre myself. In college I was a folklore and religion student, and had I continued in that field I would have focused on religions of ancient Europe so anything dealing with these traditions always floats my boat, so to speak. The crimson cult is a cool one too. I've never seen robin redbreast, I'll have to check it out. I do wish there was more of this, since the material is ripe for some cool horror style stories.

I'm american and I would love to see some stuff on our side as well, we have a decent ghost story tradition here that doesn't get enough play outside of sleepy hollow derivations. For instance, there's a story from the area I grew up on about a massacre between local Lenape tribe and english settlers, and how sometimes people would see the headless Lenape dancing around a cairn or stone monument in the woods...years later I found out that the supposed location of the monument was about 100 yards from my backyard. Always thought there was a cool flick in that story somewhere

So yeah, folk horror is great, I just wish there was more of it