Feel free to rant and rave in here, but please no slander or offensive remarks !

Moderators: lazyben, static14, texasvinyl

By Piranhaboy
I've always been fascinated by Soundtracks. But I wanted to hear from you guys about whether there was a particular record or score that you bought that started you off on horror vinyl?

For me it was finding a copy of Evil Dead at a 2nd hand place in 1990. Joseph Loduca's score just blew my mind. ANC being a horror movie fan anyway it was like being able to own a keepsake of the film which wasn't a pricey prop or something like that. And it cost me $2 bucks. It's worth a small fortune now. I've been collecting Horror vinyl for over 20 years now and I've watched the collectors scene make prices go up and up and up. So what was your first purchase or recording that made you go, "I want more of that"
By danse macabre
I honestly hated scores when I was younger. I listed to pop soundtracks, like the awful one for The Faculty, or the Tarantino stuff, but I never really gave much thought to it until probably three or four years ago. It coincided with me developing an interest in Tangerine Dream. They acted as a bit of a gateway since they've done a lot of soundtrack work. Sorcerer, although not horror, is still probably my favorite soundtrack to this day. Naturally, I gravitated towards similar synth-heavy works from people like John Carpenter. But yeah, finding a cheap $5 vinyl copy of Sorcerer was my gateway drug. Unfortunately, my copy has definitely not gone up in value. But I wouldn't sell it anyway. It's the record I probably play the most.
By Piranhaboy
Thats cool. Tangerine Dream are great. Them and Goblin are two of the greats.I've always wanted to get TD's score to Near Dark. I reckon that would be a great one.
By Jeff